Background
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
R
Welcome to Celtic Alliance Clan
Please sign in or Register

Forum Index Search Usergroups Edit your profile Members Login, Check Messages

Arcade Ranks Staff Statistics Forum FAQ Log in

Search for at
Celtic Alliance Clan Advanced Search
CPU temp

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    Celtic Alliance Clan Forum Index  » Reviews/Technical  » Technical
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Freddy

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:29 pm Post subject: No icon CPU temp Reply with quote
Hey guys, I've recently just put my new pc together and I checked my temps on a program called Speccy and it's telling me my temperatures are going skyhigh (~60C) and back down to ~40C in a matter of seconds. This is what it's showing me in the program
Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in

I did apply enough thermal paste to the CPU, would you guys know why this is happening? Also, this happens while browsing internet.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
{CA}Smokey1Kenobi
General
General

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:29 pm Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
Not seen that one. I've got CoreTemp on my PC.
Please login to see this link
Get registered or Log in


I've got a stock HS+F cooling it and it's running at 40c at the moment, I've got Firefox, Steam and Origin running.

I played through some of an Arma 3 mission and it got up to 60c.

Temps seem ok but do you have anything running in the background?

Putting the Laughter in Manslaughter since 1982.
Please login to see this link
Get registered or Log in
Please login to see this link
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
{CA}Colin747
General
General

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:31 pm Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
What cooler and paste are you using and have you overclocked it?

Also thermal paste takes a while to "cure" so temps should go down after a week or two.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit member's Facebook: 485367821100
Freddy

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:30 am Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
Downloaded CoreTemp and it shows temps from 0C to 30 max when gaming arma 3 so I guess that's okay, must've been the program going apeshit or something. Haven't overclocked the CPU and using the stock cooler. used arctiv silver 5 paste. I guess problem is solved because seems like Speccy was bugging out.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
{CA}XSive_Death
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:04 pm Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
Coretemp is very unreliable when dealing with AMD CPU's, get CPUID and post the results after 30mins of running Prime95 on max heat load settings.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Freddy

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:11 pm Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
done the test and cpu reached well over 70C, it reached 80C and then i decided to stop it, it ran for 20 mins, i've been watching the temps after i turned prime95 off and it shows the same as speccy... so my problem is not solved..

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
{CA}Colin747
General
General

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:37 pm Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
Like I said it can take a week or two for the CPU paste to cure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit member's Facebook: 485367821100
{CA}XSive_Death
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 6:30 pm Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
Colin747 wrote (View Post):
Like I said it can take a week or two for the CPU paste to cure.


Going to get 2-3c lower in those situations, which if correct means he'll only be maxing out around 80c...still something distinctly wrong.

The max safe operating temp for his model is 74c.

One this I would say is that if you're using a discrete graphics card rather than the built in, the CPU could be getting overvolted (from the extra the GPU side would be using). So you can try dropping it down to reduce temps as a stopgap with potentially no negatives.

Probably may want to re-gunk/seat your cooler too (with paste, less is more, you want as much direct contact as possible with the paste just filling in the gaps), and check your case airflow...got to shift the heat out of the case, or it builds up quickly.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Freddy

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 8:35 am Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
On what did you mean to reduce the voltage, on the CPU?

EDIT: lowered the power on CPU and it works on 50C while gaming

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
{CA}XSive_Death
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

  • » Show Info «



Status: Offline
PostPosted: Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:11 am Post subject: No icon Re: CPU temp Reply with quote
You are using an APU (basically a CPU/GPU combined).

If you are using a separate discreet GPU, the APU may still be drawing power to support both the CPU and GPU portions. As you are not using the onboard GPU side of things, the APU can get by with drawing less power than usual (might be a little vague, but I think stock it runs around 1.45v, a standard AMD CPU usually uses 1.275v).

You can set these things in the BIOS, just drop your Voltage down one segment at a time, run some stability tests, then repeat until you fail. Then notch it back up one.

Of course, all this is pointless if you're not using a discreet GPU. :)

Not being an APU user myself, so bit lacking in the info and just pulling stuff I find off Google.

Please login to see this image.
Get registered or Log in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic  Reply to topic   printer-friendly view Celtic Alliance Clan Forum Index  » Reviews/Technical  »  Technical Time synchronized with your computer time
Page 1 of 1


 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Related topics
 Topics   Replies   Author   Views   Last Post 
No new posts Sorry Guys - No time for Clan! 4 CyberPunk71 1492 Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:59 pm
Smokey1Kenobi View latest post
No new posts Where are you guys? 5 shadow345th 1761 Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:45 am
Odini View latest post
No new posts I need your help guys!! 0 Lord.Lt.Hunter 938 Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:52 pm
Lord.Lt.Hunter View latest post
No new posts Hey Guys 2 =NF=RuzSkullen 1159 Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:30 pm
Soulfly View latest post
 


Powered By: phpBB © 2001 - 2009 phpBB Group